3 Reasons why you might want to re-think your Notion workflow

I don’t use Notion as I used to anymore.

Addie Johnson
7 min readDec 20, 2022

Notion is a great way to organize personal and work documents, but it has its quirks. I used to use it to keep all my notes, thoughts, and organized research, but throughout the past four months, I’ve radically changed the way I use the platform.

Why?

I’ve found there to be a lot of challenges to using Notion and my personal workflow together.

My three main problems with Notion:

1. It’s too difficult to organize a lot of information

Creating and structuring folders is easy in the beginning, but harder as you gather more and more types of information that might not relate to each other. This might sound bizarre, as the product essentially operates off “how easy it is to use,” but I’ve found that in order to truly organize your documents, you need to create your own personal folder structure taxonomy.

Taxonomy is a way to organize and categorize data. It is a hierarchical structure that can be used to make sense of the world by…

--

--

Addie Johnson

writing about the intersection of design, business, and technology // addiejohnson.com