How I organize my UX Design Workflow with Todoist

A primer into the tools & strategies I use to prioritize and execute upon many UX projects

Addie Johnson
7 min readDec 11, 2023
Image of Todoist icon and logo
Todoist logo

Many designers like to use note taking apps, organizational apps, whiteboard apps, and to-do lists to organize and get their work done.

I’ve used several products that accomplish many of these tasks, including Miro, Notion, Leankit, Jira, Trello, etcetera.

After quite some time exploring and poking these applications, it became clear that I needed to use only one or two to maximize my time and energy, as I have the tendency to overengineer project management systems.

You need to ask yourself: what are my general needs as a designer to do and document?

Here are mine:

-> I need a way to capture team meeting action items and important meeting documentation

-> I need a way to transform meeting action items and team features into tasks

-> I need a way to capture my tasks and have a way to hold myself accountable for doing those tasks

-> I need a way to capture and plan user research and feedback

-> I need a way to capture important…

--

--

Addie Johnson

writing about the intersection of design, business, and technology // addiejohnson.com