The entrepreneur’s beginning-of-year checklist

Who needs New Year’s Resolutions when you can create an actual New Year roadmap for your business?

Addie Johnson
7 min readDec 31, 2019

Running your own business is a lot of work, and it can be hard to step back and actually roadmap when you’re knee-deep in emails, projects, and tasks. However, the end of the year is a great time to take a moment to meditate on your business and or work practice. I personally have been making a list of what did and didn’t work for me in 2019, especially since this was the year I launched my visual design studio.

Instead of New Year’s Resolutions, I’ve created a checklist of solopreneur and entrepreneur ideas that you might be able to use as you enter 2020.

1. Review Finances and Set Specific Financial Goals

I know for a fact that when I started my design business, I had no idea how much “business” I would have to learn. It’s important to make good work in whatever field your focus is, but if you want that work to be profitable, it’s crucial to learn the methods and means of actually making money and handling your finances.

For 2020, take the time to set realistic financial goals and monitor them to make sure that your business reaches its potential. Maybe it’s…

--

--

Addie Johnson

writing about the intersection of design, business, and technology // addiejohnson.com