Can’t stop endlessly rescheduling your tasks? Try these two habits in Todoist

One of the biggest challenges is figuring out how to handle tasks that you keep continually putting off. Here is my step-by-step process to preventing that vicious cycle!

Addie Johnson
5 min readJan 15, 2022
Todoist screenshots from Todoist.com website

P.S. I use Todoist for my task management, but this method can be used with any product or even pen and paper.

After noticing this phenomenon, I wanted to dig deeper into the “why” of “why am I not getting this little task done.”

So, I did an experiment with the bigger and littler tasks I’ve been putting off and ones that I’ve been continually rescheduling.

As I approached each task that had been put off more than three times, I asked this question of each: What’s keeping me from doing this task? Why do I keep reshuffling this?

Todoist blocks of time
An example board from my Todoist and the some of the tasks I needed to analyze.

After answering these questions, I was able to group these tasks into two groups.

1. You have tasks only described by the outcome, not the action.

--

--

Addie Johnson

writing about the intersection of design, business, and technology // addiejohnson.com