Your Next Secret Weapon: Two Beautiful Productivity Management Systems

Addie Johnson
6 min readAug 2, 2021

How to Get More Things Done by Using Todoist and Notion Together

I made a pretty unprecedented and sudden decision to completely overhaul my entire productivity system this week. Over the course of 4 hours, I categorized, re-ordered, and eliminated over 250 tasks and reorganized over 20 sectioned projects on my Todoist app into 3.

The catalyst was simple.

For the past 8 years, I have been using Todoist as my main application to track everything in my life. I use it to prioritize tasks, collect inspiration, and aggregate information I need for my job, clients, general life stuff, and all of my other fun projects.

Screenshot of Todoist Dashboard of Karma levels. Text says “You are a Grand Master”
After many years of using this app, I am still chasing after the elusive “enlightened” karma status…

For a long time, I wanted to have one major program/app to house all of my projects/to-dos, etcetera.

However, after looking at the over 300 outstanding “to do” tasks and cards on my platform, I was beginning to feel frustrated at the unnecessary complexity of my self-imposed system.

Here were the main problems:

--

--

Addie Johnson

writing about the intersection of design, business, and technology // addiejohnson.com